Meet our Board Members

The Hamden Board of Education consists of nine members who are elected for staggered four-year terms.  No more than six members shall be from the same political party.  The Mayor shall be an ex-officio member without voting rights.

In addition to elected members, two students are selected by the Board to serve for two-year terms. Although their input is invaluable to Board discussions, student representatives do not have voting rights. Student representatives will not attend executive sessions of the Board nor have access to associated back-up material. 

Hamden Board of Education, 2018-19

Member Phone School Liason


Chris Daur (Chair)  203-248-8135  Hamden High   School Building 
Lynn Campo  203-288-3633 Bear Path, ACES Representative Goals & Eval. (Chair), Curriculum, Finance 
Melissa A Kaplan  203-603-9320 Hamden Middle Curriculum, Policy, Goals & Eval.
Gail Mitchell  203-281-7116 Shepherd Glen Goals & Eval., Personnel
Walter Morton, IV  203-675-1537 HCLC, Alice Peck Finance, Personnel (Chair)
M. Arturo Perez-Cabello  203-865-0110 Ridge Hill/Helen St. Policy (Chair), Operations
Melinda Saller  203-230-2809 West Woods/Church St. Curriculum (Chair), Personnel
Roxana Walker-Canton 860-705-2043    
Gary Walsh 203-230-0539    
Mariam Khan Student Representative HHS Senior  
Darius Cummings Student Representative HHS Junior  


Send a message to all Board of Education members through this link or to