Hamden High School

2040 Dixwell Avenue
(203) 407-2040
(203) 407-2041 fax  

Nadine GannonPrincipal

HHS House Information
Sleeping Giant House
Assistant Principal
All Freshman

Whitney House
Assistant Principal
Last Names A - K (10-12)

Washburn House
Assistant Principal
Last Names L - Z (10 -12)
Assistant Principal


School Governance

The Hamden High School Governance Council (SGC) is happy to announce that we had 4 parent candidates apply to join by the deadline to fill the four vacancies and one junior student candidate to fill the vacant student position.  As a result, we will not need to hold an online election. Congratulations to Ms. Nancy Restivo, Ms. Melinda Saller, Mr. Mark Zarrillo, Mr. Greg Theriault and Mr. Jack Purdue. We would also like to welcome our newest teacher representative, Mr. Mark Gabriel. 

Background and Mission:  School Governance Councils were created by the CT Public Act 10-111 to enable parents, school staff, students (where appropriate) and community leaders to work together to improve student achievement.  School Governance Councils serve in an an advisory capacity and are charged with assisting the school administration in making programmatic and operational changes to improve the school's achievement. The Hamden High School School Governance Council currently meets on a monthly schedule and is reviewing, and prioritizing, the recommendations set forth in the NEASC Visiting Committee Report of 2015.

Meeting Schedule for 2019-2020: October 21, November 18, December 16, January 27, February 24, March 16, April 20, and May 18.

Current School Governance Council Members:


Principal Nadine Gannon
Assistant Principal Darce DeCosta 

Council Co-chair: Frank Dixon
Council Co-chair: Erica Tamsin

Parent and Community Members: Jasmina Besirevic-Regan, Corinne Castro, Frank Dixon, Nancy Restivo, Melinda Saller, Greg Theriault, and Mark Zarrillo, 

Community Leader: Evelyn Cumberbatch

Teacher Members: Mark Gabriel, Elizabeth Marini, Ann Stiltner, and Erica Tamsin

Student Members:  Antony Naguib and Jack Purdue

Board of Education Representative: Chris Daur

School Governance Committee By-laws

Amendment to By-laws, 2018

SGC Minutes

Dr. Kurian, Chair 17-19Final Statement