

HAMDEN BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 29, 2018

REVISED

Christopher Daur, Board Chair, called the meeting to order at 7:08 P.M.

Board Members: Christopher Daur, Myron W. Hul, Lynn Campo, Melissa Kaplan, Gail Mitchell, Vic Mitchell, Walter Morton IV., Arturo Perez-Cabello, and Melinda Saller.

Student Representative Absent: Mariam Kahn and Vincent Palumbo Staff: Jody Goeler and Michael Belden, Karen Kaplan (7:50 PM)

REMOVAL OF ITEMS FROM THE AGENDA

Board Chair, Christopher Daur, removed from the agenda: Approval of Minutes and the Comment Session from Press and Public following the approval of action items.

CORRESPONDENCE

Myron W. Hul stated there was no correspondence this evening.

PUBLIC COMMENT ON ACTION ITEMS

The following people spoke tonight during Public Comments on Action Items:

Lauren Garrett

Tom Figlar

Jaqueline Burns

John Fitzpatrick

Renee Garbatini

Michael Gargatini

Rachel

Reverend John III

Teran Loeppke

Francis Lyons

ACTION ITEMS

- 1. Move to approve the 3R Plan, which includes the following elements:
 - a. Move 6th grade to the Middle School,
 - b. Close and repurpose Church Street Elementary School,
 - c. Close and repurpose Shepherd Glen Elementary School,
 - d. Petition the Legislative Council for the transfer of the Wintergreen

- facility to be incorporated back into the Hamden Public School system,
- e. Direct the Superintendent to develop intra-district magnet programs and obtain Board approval for implementation,
- f. Direct the Superintendent to develop a district-wide universal pre-k program and obtain Board approval for implementation.

Hul

Seconded by: Morton, IV.

Daur – Yes

Hul - Yes

Campo - Yes

Kaplan - Yes

G. Mitchell - Yes

V. Mitchell - Yes

Morton IV. - Yes

Perez-Cabello – Yes

Saller - Yes

MOTION PASSES UNANIMOUSLY

COMMENTS FROM BOARD MEMBERS

The following Board Members spoke: Christopher Daur, Myron W. Hul, Melinda Saller, Arturo Perez-Cabello, Melissa Kaplan, Walter Morton, IV., and Lynn Campo.

ADJOURNMENT

2. Move to adjourn at 8:23 P.M.

Saller

Seconded by: Perez-Cabello

Unanimous

Respectfully submitted, Myron W. Hul, Board Secretary